Those of you who have been following me since the summer will know that I seem to be getting more afraid of the world. I’m afraid to fly now when I used to have no problem traveling alone. I get anxious and nervous in social situations and basically, I’m fed up of fear taking away my life.

I now fear is something phycological and that although we are wired with the fight or flight response that we do have some control over it. The fight or flight response really makes sense when you look back at our ancestors who would live outside with wild animals very close by and other threats, the fight or flight response would have saved many people.

These days its still really hardwired but goes off at times when we are in no real danger, for example before a driving test or going to therapy. By being aware of our thoughts and checking the facts we can see that although we may be a bit nervous of the test we are not in any danger.

Last year I started to really work on the things that scare me,

I did parasailing and the south coasts longest zip wire to help me work on my fear of unstable heights. I also held two tarantulas (different occasions) to help with my fear of spiders. I also climbed Mount Vesuvius with my husband as I’m scared of natural disasters. Those are the main things that stick out.

While we were in Jamaica I wanted to find something that would challenge me and there was the perfect excursion to a place called Mystic Mountain, where you have to get a chairlift to the top of the mountain where you can then go on a jungle bob slay ride and then zip wire back down through the jungle. I was so excited / not excited lol but we booked it.

I have avoided chair lifts for my whole life, even when I worked in a ski resort (I worked on my fear of bubble lifts that year as it meant I could have more time in bed and a shorter walk to work lol ) but avoided anything else….until Mystic mountain….(my stomach is flipping even now while I’m writing this!)

When we got there I could really feel the anxiety building but I knew I didn’t have a choice as otherwise there was no way to get to the top for the other activities…luckily I’m cheap and this is motivation for me lmao.

I got on and could hardly move I was so scared, I had to ask my husband to distract me by telling me a story and that’s not something he’s normally willing to do so I must have looked terrified as he started to tell me a story about a reggae monkey that had been in a shipwreck and ended up in Jamaica writing songs with Damian Marlie LOL. The distraction really helped if I’m honest!

 

 

Pure terror but what a view lol

Once we got to the top I think I was in some kind of shock and shaking but I did it!! Once we had our fun up there it was time to zip line back down….3/4 of the way…luckily I didn’t know that when we booked or I wouldn’t have booked it I don’t think…..Anyway I think its safe to say that chairlifts are not going to be my friend anytime soon (however I think I would consider it again to remove the fear….or maybe we can all get together and banish chair lifts forever…what ever works for the majority LOL) but I am proud to say I am not afraid of zip lines at all…especially when the alternative is a chair lift lol.

20181214_132625-1.jpg

I think it’s really good to take control and challenge yourself but its also important not to overdo it, this year I’m hoping to tackle go ape with one of my best friends and I’m really scared but needs to be done!

2019

*My marriage ended just after this holiday.